FBS Round 2 Race Report


As the sun shone down on Santa Pod raceway round 2 of the 2017 kicked off with a paddock of 30 cars, including 5 brand new drivers taking on the 3 barrel course.



The dry track and warm weather saw times drop quickly throughout the day to give us some of the quickest times we have seen set over the 100m sprint.


The AWD class had a new driver fighting for a podium spot, in the form of Johan Karlsson. Johan came over from Sweden to bring the fight was piloting the Kamikaze wagon.  Getting a quick 19.8 second run in practice, Karlsson looked smooth enough to cause an upset to the regulars in the championship but an unfortunate mechanical issue arose in qualifying which sadly see his day end there.


In the RWD class once more we had more MX5s join the race series, showing it truly is the best way into this grassroots motorsport.


As the drivers completed their qualifying runs the times dropped and 16 RWD and 8 AWD made it through into the knockouts.


As the RWD battles commenced we quickly saw the top 8 qualifiers all head through into the great 8.


It was in the quarter finals we started to see just how close these top 8 really were with most battles being split by just milliseconds.


Ronalds Bitmanis and Mark Young who qualified 4th and 5th respectively we split by just 0.1 second, seeing Japs Motorsport Mark Young head into a semi final against his teammate Mike Newland and with another close battle Mike took the place in the final by just 0.3 seconds.


2016 Champion Adam Elder, who was going all out to pick up points after a mechanical issue at round 1 left him out of the battles, took the win against Ryan Milton and his MX5 leaving him to line up against round 1 winner Mike in the final.


With it all to play for both drivers knew that a win for Adam would put him right back up the leaderboard. The battle was close from barrel to barrel but a 0.6 second lead gave Elder the win, leaving the two drivers tied at the top of the table.


After his round one win, Andy Stevens topping the AWD championship table and was back with his Enduring Solutions Subaru ready to take the fight to the rest of the class.


In practice Andy Stevens, Jonathan Buck, Dominic Flitney, Dmitrij Sribnyj and Yordan Andreev all dropped into the 18 second bracket. Meaning that every move made in those 4 qualifying runs were go matter.


Qualifying 5th with a PB OF 19.8 seconds Michael Irwin lined up against Yordan Andreev in the top 8 battle, unfortunately ending his day there loosing out on the top 4 place by just 0.4 seconds.


The semi finals saw Dmitrij Sribnyj line up against Flitspeed driver Dominic Flitney and Jonathan Buck against Yordan Andreev and it was both Scoobyclinic drivers who stormed their way into the final.


After a bad start to the season with mechanical issues for both SCR drivers at round one, both drivers wanted the 10 points up for grabs by taking the win so all eyes were on the final. Dmitrij took the win over teammate Jonathan Buck by 0.7 seconds, after consecutively dropping below 18 seconds in qualifying and both his semi final and final battle.


The top 5 in the AWD championship table now just split by 2 points, all drivers will be bringing everything they have to round 3 at Rockingham Speedway on July 29th.


The 2017 championship has seen the introduction of the hardcharger award. This is voted for by drivers and is awarded to whom they think has shown great improvement either throughout the day or since a previous event. This event saw Steven Moore drop his times throughout the day beating his PBs time and time again earning him the trophy for round 2.





Photos:  www.facebook.com/shootingdave